Bharatiya Darshana Shastravali—An Introduction to Indian Philosophical Systems

Chinmaya Vishwavidyapeeth is organising a lecture series on Bhāratīya Daṛśana’—Indian philosophical systems—from 27 June to 19 July 2020. Highly qualified and experienced speakers will expound on a variety of topics.

What are the ‘Darśana’? What the west calls ‘philosophy’ or ‘love of wisdom’, in Bhāratavaṛṣa it is called ‘Darśana’ i.e. ‘Vision’—the vision of the Universe, of things and beings, of our existence…

Each one has a different vision based on their capabilities, the conditioning of their mind, their experience and so on. This acceptance of diversity is what led to the development of various Darśanas—while some saw the world as completely materialistic, some saw it only as a mere appearance and some others saw it as a consequence of sound logic and cosmic order.

Through this series of lectures, learn about Bhāratīya Darśana’ and have your questions answered and doubts clarified by eminent scholars from the field.

Those attending a minimum of seven lectures will automatically qualify for a Faculty Development Programme certification.

Click here to register

For queries:


Dr. Tulasi Kumar Joshi

Assistant Professor, School of Vedic Knowledge Systems, Chinmaya Vishwavidyapeeth | Ph.D. in Advaita Vedānta, Banaras Hindu University | Ācārya in Śāṅkara-Vedānta, SSVV, Varanasi | Has delivered lectures on Vyākaraṇa, Nyāya and Advaita Vedānta at Vākyārtha Sabhās.

Dr. Shubhada Joshi

Professor and Former Head, Department of Philosophy, University of Mumbai | Ph.D. in ‘Lokayata’ A Critical Study’ | Nearly five decades of teaching experience |Guided over 30 doctoral students

Dr. V N Jha

Former Director, Centre of Advanced Study in Sanskrit, University of Pune, for nearly 20 years | Founding Chairman of ‘Special Centre for Sanskrit Studies’, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi | Has guided 35 doctoral students | Published over 50 books, 150+ articles and over 200 lectures delivered

Dr. Rajeshwar V Deshmukh

Faculty of Nyāya-śāstra in Vedānta University Shridattadevasthan, Ahmednagar | Doctorate in Nyāya-śāstra from Deccan College, Pune | Participated in several Vākyārtha Sabhās including at Sringeri

Dr. Shrinivas Varakhedi

Vice Chancellor, Kavikulaguru Kalidas Sanskrit University, Nagpur | Professor and Dean of Shastra Faculty in Karnataka Samskrita University, Bengaluru | Member of Academic Council of RSVP Tirupati and Board of Management in Chinmaya Vishwavidyapeeth and so on | Member of NAAC guidelines preparation committee for Sanskrit universities |More than 30 publications in National and International journals | Awarded ‘Maharshi Badarayan Vyas Samman’ by the President of India in 2008 | Winner of ‘Swami Chinmayananda Research Gold Medal’ in 2013

Dr. Madhusudan Penna

Dean, Faculty of Indian Religion, Philosophy and Culture, Kavikulaguru Kalidas Sanskrit University, Nagpur | Honorary D.Litt. from National Sanskrit University, Tirupati | Author of 30 books and 35 articles including two Mahakavya | Winner of Sahitya Academy Award in 2019 for his book ‘Pradnyachakshum’

Dr. Veena Londhe

Former Professor of Sanskrit in Nalanda Nritya Kala Mahavidyalaya | Visiting faculty at the University of Mumbai | A trained Yoga teacher | Propagates ‘Alternate Therapy of Space, Time and Motion’ through workshops/ lectures and direct treatment | Author of the book ‘Interpreting Patanjali’s Yogadarshana: Theory and Practice’

Dr. Gopala Desikan

Assistant Professor, School of Philosophy, Psychology and Scientific Heritage at Chinmaya Vishwavidyapeeth | Ācārya in Mīmāṃsā and Nyāya | Ph.D. in Navya Nyāya

Dr. Shakuntala Gawde

Assistant Professor, Department of Sanskrit, University of Mumbai | Ph.D. (Sanskrit) in ‘Eschatology in Vedic Literature Compared with Western Philosophy’

Dr. Gauri Mahulikar

Dean, Chinmaya Vishwavidyapeeth | Gurudev Tagore Chair of Comparative Literature Professor and Former Head of Department of Sanskrit at the University of Mumbai | Awarded ‘Maneckji Limji Gold Medal’ for her dissertation on ‘Ancient Greek Dramas and Bharata’s Natyasastra’ from the University of Mumbai | Published six books and over eighty research articles in English, Marathi, Hindi and Sanskrit

Dr. Prathosh A. P.
Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, IIT Delhi | Doctorate from IISc | Belongs to Madhva Parampara and participates in Vākyārtha Sabhās, particularly in Indian Epistemological and Vedāntic Systems including Advaita, Dvaita and Bauddha.

Kum. Maitri Goswami

17th direct descendent of Mahaprabhu Shri Vallabhacharya | Learnt all traditional scriptures of Puṣṭimārg from her father Śrī Sharad Goswami and her revered guru Goswami Śrī Shyam Manoharji | Founder member of Sri Vallabhacharya Vidyapeeth

Dr. K. Ramasubramaniam
Professor at IIT Bombay in ‘Cell for Indian Science and Technology in Sanskrit’ | Doctorate in Theoretical Physics |Bachelors in Engineering | Masters in Sanskrit | Awarded ‘Maharshi Badarayan Vyas Samman’ by the President of India in 2008 | Member of Central Sanskrit Board


Shri Subramanian Chidambaran

Engineer | PG in Management, IIM Lucknow | MA Sanskrit | Head of Strategy at an MNC in Mumbai | Carnatic Musician