Kurukshetra 2020

Chinmaya Vishwavidyapeeth’s first annual intramural sports festival Kurukshetra was inaugurated on 3rd February. Kurukshetra 2020 has four teams – Abhimanyu, Krishna, Arjuna and Drona – battling it out in nine zestful events: the 5s football, cricket, volleyball, badminton, foot cricket, throwball, table tennis, chess and carrom.

After each team was introduced with an exuberant dance performance, Vice-Chancellor Neerchal presented the teams with their team flags and addressed the excited gathering. The captains took the oath for playing the games as per the rules and regulations and in the true spirit of sportsmanship. Sri Anish P. S., Asst. Director, P.E, revealed the Vice-Chancellor’s rolling trophy to be awarded to the overall champions of Kurukshetra 2020. Click here to view pictures

The sporting events began with Team Abhimanyu and Team Drona locking horns for the first time in the first 5s football match. Team Abhimanyu won the game with a thrashing score of 5-0.

Day 2 had two football matches scheduled – Arjuna’s A-Team v/s Krishna’s B-Team and Drona and Abhimanyu’s B-Teams. All four teams played extremely well, ending with Arjuna’s A-Team and Drona’s B Team gaining entry into the semi-finals, joining the previous day’s winning team, Abhimanyu. Click here to view pictures

Day 3 of Kurukshetra had only one football match scheduled between Arjuna’s B-Team and Krishna’s A-Team. Krishna’s A-Team won 2-1 to enter the semi-finals.

On Day 4 football fever of the semi-finals was palpable in the air. Matches were scheduled between Drona’s B-Team v/s Krishna’s A-Team and Arjuna’s A-Team v/s Abhimanyu’s A-Team. Both the matches kept the audience on their feet and wanting more. Finally, it was Team Krishna and Team Arjuna that won to lock horns in the finals to be held on March 19th, 2020.

Foot Cricket Semi-Finals – Girls

Very few are familiar with foot Cricket. At the first intra-mural games at CVV, this unique sport found a place for itself to be the first ever foot cricket match at the first Kurukshetra. Foot cricket is a ball game with six players or more, where there is one football and the batsmen score runs by kicking the ball received from the bowler, kicking it into the outfield. The rules of the game are similar to cricket except that this is played with a football and the ball is kicked instead of being hit with a bat. 

Smt. Jayalakshmi Nanda, Chief of Staff, Vice-Chancellor’s office, was the Guest of Honour at the Girls Foot cricket match. Team Drona won the toss and chose to bowl first. It was a well-played match with both teams giving it their best. Finally, Team Abhimanyu made it to the finals.

On Day 6 of Kurukshetra, Team Krishna faced Team Arjuna in the Foot Cricket Semifinals – Girls. Parimala, Captain of Team Krishna won the toss and elected to bowl first. As a result of the tough bowling attack by Team Arjuna, Team Krishna struggled by scoring just 11 runs off the first 3 overs. With wickets falling on one side, Krishna managed to make only a total of 38 runs at the end of 6 overs. Team Arjuna qualified for the finals with a huge victory by 37 runs.

The Finals of the Foot Cricket – Girls was held on Day 7 of Kurukshetra. Team Abhimanyu was pitted against Team Arjuna. Deekshita won the toss for Team Abhimanyu and elected to bowl first. Team Arjuna made a whopping score of 111/3 at the end of 8 overs. With a tight field set up by Arjuna, Abhimanyu started losing wickets. They played valiantly till the end, but couldn’t help Team Abhimanyu meet the target. At the end of 8 overs, Abhimanyu managed to make 68/2 giving Team Arjuna a win by 43 runs.

Team Arjuna emerged as the winners of the first foot cricket event of the first Kurukshetra at CVV.



Click to view more pictures